Skip to content

In-person meeting boosts community of social media

October 8, 2009

Malena Cunningham, center, joins Sunny, far left, & Andre Natta

Malena Cunningham, center, joins Sunny, far left, & Andre Natta

The great thing about social media is that you develop relationships with people you never meet. You can feel a connection just because you care about the same things and you can work together as advocates for a cause and that is a powerful connection.

The even greater thing the Women’s Fund Blogging Against Domestic Violence event in the NBC13 conference room on Oct. 7 is that we were able to sit side by side with fellow bloggers who we may never have met. And that made the connection, the sense of shared purpose and the sense of community even more powerful. Bettina Byrd-Giles, Virginia Jones, Sunny Slaughter, Cutressa Williams, Andre Natta, Daniel Walters and, yes, the Community Foundation’s chief blogger, Emily Jones Rushing, got to spend time with each other across the conference table as we interviewed police officers, judges, social workers, counselors and members of the Women’s Fund’s giving circle, Voices Against Violence.

Sunny Slaughter said it best as we gathered to leave at about 7:30 p.m., the lights of Birmingham shining clear and bright outside the window. For those gathered in a conference room on top of Red Mountain and for those gathered in the social media community who responded to our blogs and tweets, it was a special moment, but there was still a strong sense work to be done as we support the victims of domestic violence.

Thank you, Holly Hilton of The Women’s Fund, for organizing us all. Thank you, Gene Kirkconnell of NBC13, for giving us a place and a reason to gather. We look forward to seeing the results of our social media community in the amount of money raised for grants from Voices Against Violence and, through that, in efforts to reduce the incidence of domestic violence assaults across our whole community.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2009 3:19 pm

    Emily,

    Great post and great photo! I’d love to see all your photos from the event.

    Holly

  2. Bettina Byrd-Giles permalink
    October 12, 2009 11:41 pm

    Emily,

    It was great. I stretched as a blogger and as a person. I usually write posts and publish them several hours later or even several weeks later. I may write three to four posts in a week. But to interview someone and write a post instantly was new to me. I think I published four posts in two hours. It was energizing. I look forward to future opportunities to blog with you and the Foundation.

    Bettina

  3. February 27, 2013 10:22 am

    However, there are also the so called modern made engagement rings which are vintage inspired.
    Sometimes seeking out a stone with slight defects can be a major cost-saving measure.

    at South – Park Mall, said his top seller remains the six-prong round Tiffany setting.

  4. April 1, 2013 2:45 pm

    I was suggested this website by my cousin.
    I am not positive whether or not this publish is written through
    him as nobody else recognize such certain about my difficulty.
    You’re amazing! Thank you!

  5. April 3, 2013 8:03 am

    Hi there, just wanted to mention, I loved this article. It
    was inspiring. Keep on posting!

  6. April 3, 2013 11:57 pm

    Hi! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing months of hard work due to no data backup.
    Do you have any methods to protect against hackers?

  7. April 23, 2013 10:21 am

    Greetings from Florida! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the info you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when
    I get home. I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI,
    just 3G .. Anyhow, great site!

Trackbacks

  1. The power of collaboration

Leave a Reply

