Skip to content

A walk to the library

April 27, 2009

April 27, 2059

The morning sun is kind. Springtime has never looked lovelier in downtown Birmingham.

As I step out onto my loft patio, I’m enjoying a day filled with possibilities. Perhaps I’ll take the solar-powered bus over to the library to chat with fellow readers. I may walk instead, since this weather is meant to be enjoyed.

Sure, I’ll walk.

On the way, I see children hurrying to Miriam Witherspoon Elementary, the nation’s top-rated public school. It must be Science Fair Day, because they’re all carrying fusion-powered gizmos and genetically engineered slaw.

The air is clearer than I ever remember. Thank goodness we curbed power plant emissions and car exhaust through smart planning and regulation. Everyone can breathe more easily, and spend their time on things other than trips to the doctor and the pharmacist.

I stop in at Urban Standard for a scone and a friendly smile. Not the original one, but the 12th one that opened west of that location. Because the original one is just too packed with workers, college students and gaudy tourists.

I shouldn’t be too hard on the tourists. They love coming here and spending their money on our museums and our local shops and spending time in our gorgeous expansive parks. They love our sweet tea and barbecue, they love that we’ve held on to our historic buildings and architecture, so I can tolerate them.

The bus would’ve been faster. Along the sidewalks, I run into friends and acquaintances and spend time talking with each one. Now that so many have decided to live downtown, it’s difficult to go anywhere without running into a neighbor, another retiree, a former coworker or a fellow volunteer. Who knew so many would take to urban living?

I’ll be at the library soon. It is a good morning, and like most mornings, a good one to spend in Birmingham.

Wade Kwon
Wade on Birmingham

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2009 12:35 am

    Thanks for letting me participate. I want everyone to think deliberately about Birmingham’s bright future, and what we need to do right now to make it happen.

  2. Jennifer West permalink
    April 28, 2009 11:27 am

    Wade!!! That was GREAT!! I could visualize it perfectly.

    • April 28, 2009 3:10 pm

      Jen, you’re so creative, you could do a screenplay, or at least a scene, with your vision of Birmingham’s future. Go for it!

Leave a Reply

